No matter what state you live in or where you drive, holding an auto insurance policy to provide basic protection for you, your vehicle, and other drivers is the law and simply put, a matter of public safety. The dangers and financial ramifications presented by under-insured and uninsured drivers can be significant and California in particular has strived to make sure that the state policies for minimum auto insurance coverage provide adequate protection for all of the state’s citizens.
In particular, California requires that your policy have 15/30 Bodily Injury Liability Coverage, which translates to $15,000 in coverage for injury or death to one person and $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person. You will need to carry Property Damage Liability Coverage on your auto insurance policy for at least $5,000. Additionally, California also requires that you have minimum Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage in the amount of $15,000 per person or $30,000 per accident.
Purchasing the Right Auto Insurance for You
Determining the best auto insurance policy for you and your family goes beyond understanding the California State minimums however. You need to take into account the number of drivers in your family, their age, the types of vehicles you have, how far you drive, and a number of other significant factors to determine what will comprise the right auto insurance policy with the right level of protection. Turning to a trusted insurance agent with industry expertise and access to a number of insurance providers is a solid first step in securing the auto insurance policy that is right for you.
Contact us today at 714-258-2800 or 888-725-7776 to discuss your auto insurance needs and receive a free, no obligation quote.